Moving away from Google is easy, and you can (help) plant trees in the process

In my push to leave behind me as much of the data-tracking-web as possible, I have been using DuckDuckGo as my search engine rather than Google for the last 6 months. I can honestly say that, based on search results alone, I feel no need to go back. That being said, I wasn’t always very happy with the speed of the site. Sometimes it was fine, but other days, it was really slow.

So, I went looking for an alternative search engine and came across 2 that struck a cord with me: Qwant and Ecosia. For the last week and a half I have been using the latter, Ecosia, and I have to say I am satisfied. I haven’t seen it load results slowly yet and results have been good - and I am planting trees when using it :-). The only thing is that it doesn’t integrate on my mobile phone browsers very well (I think), so there I continue to use DuckDuckGo.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying it is better than Google, but I do encourage you to look beyond the go-to search engine if you are at all concerned with data tracking.

Mastodon